Top Ten Books of 2018

I know I’m kind of late on this, but figured I’d do my Top Ten Books of 2018. I read 75 books over the course of the year, and while I’ve begun to realise I’m more lenient(?) than a lot of readers (particularly a couple I follow on Instagram) I rated a bunch pretty highly. No particular order.

-10-

Out of the Forest
Gregory Smith

I felt a lot for this book, moving through a man’s childhood filled with abandonment and abuse, which fuels his escape to the rainforest (a couple hours south of where I live). I usually hate all things Australiana, but I loved this memoir and Gregory’s passion for the forest.


-9-

To My Trans Sisters
Charlie Craggs

Letters to transwomen from transwomen, and an important read for everyone else, particularly those who lack a transwoman’s point of view in their life. It embraces women who have succeeded, as well as the women who have seen hardships both relating to their trans status and as women in general.


-8-

Outbound Flight
Timothy Zahn

My first Star Wars novel, and my copy is now signed after spending two hours deliberating about approaching the author because my anxiety skyrockets at conventions. If you loved Thrawn and want more prequel stuff, check it out.


-7-

We Have Always Lived in the Castle
Shirley Jackson

Part of my Halloween reading, and a good intro to Jackson’s work.


-6-

The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins
McElboys, Carey Pietsch

A sick comic from the DnD podcast by those good, good boys. I was super excited when I pre-ordered this, and was not disappointed. Just wish the series could be released in comic form in one huge volume at once.


-5-

Borne
Jeff Vandermeer

I decided to look into Vandermeer thanks to the Reading Glasses podcast, and this style of sci-fi just gets me. Urban decay, weird science, dystopia that isn’t just teens running around. So good.


-4-

The Poet X
Elizabeth Acevedo

A novel in verse, about a girl discovering slam poetry? This is a definite must-read, especially if long fiction isn’t for you. Xiomara explores the bullshit that comes with that period of girl-to-womanhood from her parents and peers, all set in the heart of Harlem.


-3-

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Some good, low-key gay content (with a heavy focus on first friendships and platonic male love), with an audiobook read by Lin Manuel-Miranda. Both characters are so vibrant and lovable in their own ways.


-2-

Who Fears Death
Nnedi Okorafor

I found this title when I saw the author explaining how her original publisher tried to whitewash the cover; the cover of a book dealing with the genocide of black people in a post-apocalyptic Africa, following the story of the child of a violent union between these people and their oppressors. The story is full of violence, something which makes it hard to read but is essential in the reading. Heavily recommend this one.


-1-

Circe
Madeline Miller

A lot of people’s favourite for the year, I read it and then made my significant other read it and we both loved it. Detailing Circe’s life from childhood(?), through Odysseus’s adventures to her island and a number of others events, I loved the exploration of her story, in something that has always been someone else’s.


Obviously, I couldn’t stick to just the ten, so here’s several of my other highly rated books for 2018. Check them out:

Crooked Kingdom
Leigh Bardugo

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running & Norwegian Wood
Haruki Murakami

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda & Leah on the Offbeat
Becky Albertalli

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
Mackenzie Lee

In Cold Blood
Truman Capote

Let me know if I should post my full reading outline from 2018.

Leave a comment