A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World // C.A. Fletcher

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.

Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

| Six chapters |
The author/publisher seemed to want reviews as vague as possible, so I’ll do my best.

I love the feeling of isolation and urban decay that a book can often evoke better than most mediums when done correctly, and this fragment of writing delivers on both so well. The sense of discovery and of interacting with old, forgotten things, of survival and loss at the end of the world, is immersive and brings to mind that future in urban exploration that I’m sure many people have imagined.

The central characters, the family of the protagonist, are established succinctly but well enough to show their importance and place in his life. And having dogs at the centre of it all, I know that’s a definite draw for a lot of readers.

At times the text is thick with words, with long sentences that ramble – understandable from a child filled with wonder and curiosity but something that I struggled with. I’m hopeful for this book though and excited to see the finished product.

A Boy and His Dog at the End of The World releases 23rd of April, 2019.

Leave a comment