2019 – Welcome!

I got through a lot of books in 2018, and made a blog to spend some time reflecting instead of jumping straight into the next one. Hopefully, I’ll remember what I read a little longer this way.

Hi! I run a mediocre instagram page called broughtyoubooks, and a study/bookish tumblr called broughtyoubooks. I realised that I fall into the trap of adopting a certain tone on instagram with most people, and wanted to make a place where I didn’t do that. Also, the whole ‘post what’s popular so people will actually interact with you and talk books’ gets grating. This blog will start of most journalistic, but please, if you’re here, talk to me. Recommend stuff. I’ll try most things.

I’m 23. I’m trying to figure out what that entails because right now it’s just struggling through a Masters degree and not a lot else. I love queer literature, I love speculative fiction and, after I realised that professors don’t know everything, I broke back into young adult fiction, having avoided it as ‘not what we read when we’re in uni,’ because I’m an adult, and a professor believing they’re above YA is concerning? Also, guess who was encouraged (by a different professor) to read a bunch of queer YA for their current dissertation?

I got back into reading properly after a LONG period of just, not, thanks to booklr and bookstagram, but also the podcast Reading Glasses with Brea Grant and Mallory O’Meara. From there, I’ve put a bunch of bookish podcasts in my ‘to listen’ pile and will likely talk about them here.

I’m not sure if there’s a consistent way that I’ll approach reviews and other posts here, but I’ll see as we go.

Thanks.

Leave a comment